Home » Breaking News » JVP won’t back Ranil

JVP won’t back Ranil

The JVP has decided not to vote for the vote of confidence sponsored by UNF in support of ousted Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

A motion, signed by eight UNF members including UNP Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa, has been handed over to the Secretary General of Parliament. The motion is likely be taken up for debate on Dec 12.

The motion has been signed by MPs Sajith Premadasa, Ravi Karunanayake, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Lakshman Kiriella, Dr. Rajitha Senaratne, Palany Thigambaram, Mangala Samaraweera and Rishad Bathiudeen.

A UNP spokesman said that the motion would be debate on Dec. 12 and put to the vote on the same day. He said that they would garner the votes of the TNA in favour of the motion.

The vote of confidence reads: “That this House resolves that Ranil Wickremesinghe, Member of Parliament commands the confidence of Parliament to function as the Prime Minister.”

JVP MP Dr Nalinda Jayatissa said that none of his party’s six MPs would vote in support of Wickremesinghe. “The motion would probably be taken up for debate on Dec. 12. But we would not vote for it. Our party’s standpoint remains that we would neither support Mahinda Rajapaksa nor Ranil Wickremesinghe nor any other UNP MPs to become Prime Minister. Our objective is only to defeat the conspiracy that landed the country in a crisis.”

Author: TELO Admin