Home » Breaking News » Curfew in several areas lifted

Curfew in several areas lifted

Curfew imposed in the Southern, Eastern, Uva, Sabaragamuwa and the North-Central provinces and in the Nuwara-Eliya, Matale, Kurunegala, Mannar, Vavuniya, Mullaitivu and Kilinochchi Districts has been lifted as of 6am today and will be re-imposed at 2 this afternoon.

The President’s Media Division said curfew imposed in the Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna districts will continue until further notice.

The PMD reiterated that travelling between districts during this period and when curfew is lifted will not be permitted.

The PMD said only essential services will be allowed to function.

The President’s Media Division said curfew is in place as a containment measure adding that those who violate curfew regulations will be punished.

The government also requests the public to heed all directives issued by health authorities to contain the spread of the novel coronavirus in the country.

Meanwhile the PMD said Atalugama of the Kalutara District and Akurana of the Kandy District will remain isolated areas until further notice.

Entry and exit from these two towns have also been prohibited.

Author: TELO Admin