Home » Breaking News » Curfew in 19 districts to continue until April 6

Curfew in 19 districts to continue until April 6

The curfew in Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna districts, which have been identified as high risk zones for the spread of coronavirus, will continue until further notice, the President’s Media Division said.

The curfew in other districts, which was temporarily lifted at 6.00 a.m. this morning, will be re-imposed at 2.00 p.m. today (01).

The curfew in these districts will continue until 6.00 a.m. on April 06 (Monday) and will be re-imposed at 2.00 p.m. on the same day.

Traveling to and from all districts is completely prohibited except for the purpose of providing essential services.

Those who misuse regulations introduced with the aim of ensuring the smooth functioning of essential services will severely be dealt with according to the law, the PMD said.

Since the sole purpose of these measures is to ensure the well-being of the people of this country in the wake of COVID-19 outbreak, the Government requests the public to strictly adhere to the guidelines in a responsible manner.

The village Atalugama in the Kalutara district and the village Akurana in the Kandy district have been declared completely isolated areas. No one will be allowed to enter or leave from these two villages until further notice.

Author: TELO Admin