High-Level Political Alliance Talks Commence; Delegates From Two Political Entities Present

A high-level meeting took place this morning at a local hotel in Madiwela, where leaders from two political entities engaged in discussions about forming a new political alliance.

The participants included Nimal Siripala de Silva faction, representing the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, and the new alliance which also includes MP Nimal Lanza.

Notably, twenty current Members of Parliament participated in today’s dialogue, representing both sides.

The New Alliance movement that took part in talks with the Nimal Siripala faction of the SLFP included Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Nimal Lanza, Minister Susil Premajayantha, Minister Nalin Fernando, Piyankara Jayaratne, Udayakantha Gunathilake, Sudath Manjula,Nimal Piyatissa, M. Musharraf, and Ishaq Rahman.

Anura Priyadarshana Yapa currently leads the operational aspects of the new alliance, initiated by MP Nimal Lanza.

Additional attendees included Minister Mahinda Amaraweera, State Minister Lasantha Alagiyawanna, State Minister Dr. Suren Raghavan, State Minister Jagath Pushpakumara, Duminda Dissanayake, and Weerakumara Dissanayake, representing the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, alongside Nimal Siripala De Silva.

The discussion focused on laying out the foundational steps for the new political alliance, with plans underway for a future rally in Hambantota.