Home » Breaking News » TNA appoints committee to look into problems at grassroots level in North and East

TNA appoints committee to look into problems at grassroots level in North and East

The Coordinating Committee (CC) of the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) which deliberated over two days (April 29th Tuesday and April 30th Wednesday) presided over by Leader R. Sampanthan in Trincomalee, had appointed a seven-member committee to look into problems faced by the people at district level in the North and East and provide solutions, TELO Leader TNA Parliamentarian Selvam Adaykalanathan said yesterday.

The committee would look into problems faced by civilians in the eight districts of the North and the East at grassroots level so that the twelve TNA Parliamentarians, the eleven

Eastern Provincial Councilors and the thirty Northern Provincial Councilors would assist them in finding solutions inside and outside Parliament and through the Provincial Councils where necessary, said PLOTE Leader and NPC member Dharmalingam Sithadthan.

The Coordinating Committee(CC) of the TNA met for the first time in the Jaffna District subsequently in the Vavuniya district and last week in the Trincomalee district.

Sithadthan said that the 15 member Coordinating Committee(CC) of the TNA which consisted of three representatives each from the alliance parties ITAK, TELO, EPRLF, PLOTE and TULF met last week presided over by the Leader.

All 12 Parliamentarians, excluding one Ampara District Parliamentarian who crossed over to the government ranks and the 11 Eastern and 30 Northern Provincial Councilors met and deliberated before this seven member committee was appointed.

The Committee comprises ITAK General Secretary MP Mavai Senathirajah, PLOTE Leader and Northern Provincial Councilor Dharmalingam Sithadthan, TELO Leader and MP Selvam Asaykalanathan, EPRLF Leader and MP Suresh Premachandran, ITAK member Lawyer and MP M.A. Sumanthiran, Batticaloa district MP Pon Selvarajah and Leader of the Opposition in the Eastern Provincial Council S. Thandauthapani.

TELO Media Team 1