Election Commission to Review SLFP Decisions

The National Election Commission has announced its intention to thoroughly examine the notices submitted by the Sri Lanka Freedom Party Politburo regarding recent decisions.

NEC Chairman R. M. L. Ratnayake confirmed that a delegation from the Sri Lanka Freedom Party met with him on the afternoon of the 8th of April, delivering a set of crucial documents.

These documents highlight the newly appointed members within the Politburo and address related matters.

On the 18th, the Election Commission will formally receive and review all the materials, paving the way for the next steps.

During the meeting, key members of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party—National Organizer Duminda Dissanayake, Treasurer Lasantha Alayagiyavanna, and Weerakumara Dissanayake—officially presented the Politburo’s decisions to the Election Commission.

On the 8th of April, Duminda Dissanayake, the National Organizer of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, announced that the party’s political committee appointed Nimal Siripala de Silva as the Acting SLFP Chairman.

However, Dushmantha Mitrapala, the Acting General Secretary of the party, expressed reservations about this appointment, citing that it does not align with the party’s constitution.

The politburo of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party convened at the Sri Lanka Foundation Institute, after the meeting was called for by SLPF Senior Vice Chairman Nimal Siripala De Silva.

As per the official document signed during the recent Politburo meeting, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party’s Politburo comprises 15 members.

They are:

Maithripala Sirisena
Sarathi Dushmantha Mitrapala
Hector Bethmage
Attorney-at-Law Keerthi Udawatte
Professor Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa
Dr. Chamila Liyanage
President’s Counsel Faiszer Mustafa
KP Gunawardena
Nimal Siripala de Silva
Weerakumara Dissanayake
Sajin de Vass Gunawardena
Sarath Ekanayake
Metsiri de Silva
Indika Rajapaksa
& Lakmal Wickramarachchi

However, Duminda Dissanayake asserts that, according to documents submitted to the Election Commission, only 11 members actively participate in the party’s Politburo.

He said that during the meeting on the 8th of April, 6 of these members were in attendance.