Supreme Lanka Coalition to support no-confidence motion against Speaker

The Supreme Lanka Coalition (‘Uttara Lanka Sabhagaya’) has decided to endorse the no-confidence motion against Speaker of Parliament Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

The decision was taken when the MP group of the political alliance formed by the group of independent political parties including Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) leader Udaya Gammanpila met on Monday (Feb.26).

On Monday (Feb.26), several opposition parties led by Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa signed a motion of no confidence against the Speaker, claiming that he had violated the Constitution.

As such, a group of MPs belonging to the opposition in Parliament including M. A. Sumanthiran, Lakshman Kiriella, Prof. G. L. Pieris, Tissa Attanayake, Chandima Weerakkody and Shan Wijayalal de Silva, had inked the motion for approving the much-disputed Online Safety Bill amidst ‘irregular procedures’.

The no-confidence motion pointed out that the Speaker had ignored the Supreme Court’s recommendations pertaining to Sections 13, 17, 20, 33 (6), 34 (1), 35 (1), 21, 22 and 33 of the Online Safety Bill.

Earlier this month, Opposition Leader charged that the Speaker had ignored nine recommendations given by the Supreme Court while enacting the Online Safety Act, adding that they no longer have faith in him.