Sri Lanka president appoints four cabinet ministers

Sri Lanka President Gotabaya Rajapaksa appointed four new ministers on Saturday (14), all four key members of the previous government, in the interest of “stability”, the President’s Media Division (PMD) said.

Prof G L Peiris was sworn in as Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dinesh Gunawardena as Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs and Local Government, Prasanna Ranatunga as Miniser of Urban Development and Housing, and Kanchana Wijesekara as Minister Power and Energy before the president.

“Until a full cabinet is appointed, in order to continue the functions of parliament and the country with stability, President Rajapaksa made these four appointments,” the PMD statement said.